The Beauty Essentials Every Girl Needs!

If you’re anything like myself, you will probably find that your Instagram feed is flooded, day in and day out with bold and bright, creative makeup looks. Artists these days are pushing the boundaries and exploring different styles and techniques. Inverted smokey eyes and double cut creases aren’t hard to come by, but lets bring it back to basics, shall we? I have come up with a list of  just some of my must have and go-to products for that perfect simple everyday look. Effortless and achievable beauty, that won’t have you stuck in front of the mirror all day!

So here we go, Step 1: Primer.

A primer is probably one of the most important things you need in order to create that flawless base that will last all day. My all time favourite would have to be the Smashbox Photo Finish Primer. I use the Light version of this primer and find that the smallest bit goes such a long way! It not only increases the longevity of my makeup but smooths out those fine lines to give me that flawless finish. It’s also oil-free , which is such a plus for someone with oily skin like myself! So head to your nearest Smashbox counter,found in most Boots stores, and pick up this little gem!

Image: LifeByLeah

Step 2: Foundation.

Like most gals, of course I have a few favourites when it comes to foundations. I tend to switch up my foundation depending on the condition of my skin at the time, if I am wearing false tan or not, or whether I’m looking for a lighter or fuller coverage finish. However, the one foundation I go back to time and time again is my Benefit Hello Flawless Foundation. Giving me fantastic coverage without feeling cakey, and it contains SPF which is super important for your skin so for that perfect daytime foundation I would highly recommend picking up the Benefit Hello Flawless Foundation. It contains 25 SPF and has a brightening formula build in so its perfect for day time!

Image: LifeByLeah

Step 3: Concealer. 

Again like my foundation, I have a few favourites. However, I tend to use concealers for different reasons. My favourite for carving out my brow, and prepping my eyelids before my shadows would be Inglot’s Under Eye Concealer in 95. A tiny bit patted all over the lids is perfect for taking away any colour on the lids leaving them ready and prepped for shadows. In terms of concealing and highlighting my face, I just love my Urban Decay Naked Skin Concealer in Light Warm. This concealer is super blendable and full coverage without feeling like it. I use this under my eyes and down the centre of my face i.e chin,nose and forehead.

Image: LifeByLeah

Time to warm up the face with our next product, step 4: Bronzers&Blushes.

I added bronzers and blushes into the same category because I would use both to add life and colour back to the face after the concealing. A bronzing product which I just love to use is Benefits Hoola Bronzer. This little box is perfect for warming up the outer areas of the face and giving the skin a natural contoured look. It’s the perfect warm shade for any skin tone AND comes with a flat defined brush which is perfect for contouring. Trust me when I say that it’s worth every penny!

After warming up the face I always had a touch of blush to the apples of my cheeks for the perfect finish. My all time favourite is Soap&Glorys Peach Party. It’s like a wheel, sectioned off in a variety of perfect peachy toned colours that give a shimmery finish. No matter how many high-end blushes I try, I will never find one as inexpensive yet amazing as this product which can be picked up in Boots for less than €10. Such a steal!

Image: LifeByLeah

Now for everyone’s favourite part, step 5: Highlighter.

Because who doesn’t love to shine bright like a diamond?! I am a self-confessed highlighter fanatic and have my fair share of go-to products, so this was super hard to narrow down, but I did… To 2. Number one, a golden oldie.Or not so golden as its Mac’s Soft&Gentle Skin Finish. This is the perfect pinky pearly highlighter that sits beautifully on the cheekbones to give an amazing gentle glow. I mean the hint is in the name? A cheaper alternative to this and another favourite is of course, the Catrice High Glow Powder in Light Infusion.This product is a winner, coming in at €5 at your local Penny’s, it gives a perfect daytime glow for a fraction of Macs price!

Image: LifeByLeah

So, now that I have talked you through the important steps of your beauty essentials, I am going to finish off with some finishing touches. To be honest, for these last little bits I tend not to over indulge by keeping to a drug store standard. Things like, eye and lip liners can be picked up anywhere from Superdrug to Penny’s, and when it comes to lashes, the SoSueMe collection is the perfect set to suit every style and every look!

Image: LifeByLeah

Love Leah

3 thoughts on “The Beauty Essentials Every Girl Needs!

Leave a Reply

